Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

Lessons from the movie theater

One of my great joys of living in North Dakota has been working at the local movie theater. I have learned some things from working there.

Posted 9/20/16 (Tue) read more »

Escape from the dysfunction, discord and disrespect

Sometimes I feel like I am starting to identify with Will McAvoy.

Posted 9/13/16 (Tue) read more »

An ailment a day keeps doctor away

Every day, I experience a new ache, strain or pain. I have had the common cold and the uncommon cold.

Posted 9/06/16 (Tue) read more »

Mama said there would be days like this

Have you noticed how many Days there are these days?

Posted 8/30/16 (Tue) read more »

Shouldn’t we want spending oversight?

Debate is lining up on both sides of the Initiated Measure proposing to quadruple the tax rate on tobacco products, including vaping.

Posted 8/23/16 (Tue) read more »

FB use spells disaster (or tries to)

Everybody is always so mad on Facebook. Well, I’m offended that everyone seems to have abandoned the English language.

Posted 8/16/16 (Tue) read more »

It will be a cold day in North Dakota

Warm weather doesn’t really belong to us here; it seems to be on loan from somewhere else.

Posted 8/09/16 (Tue) read more »

Pining nostalgic while celebrating 85th birthday

There were 35 of us who gathered to celebrate the milestone birthday of the guy who is called Dad, Grandpa, Papa John or just plain John.

Posted 8/02/16 (Tue) read more »

Call it whatever you want, visioning really does work

You only need look around any small North Dakota community to see the fruit of collective visioning.

Posted 7/26/16 (Tue) read more »

A special session now seems politically motivated

Pleas for a special session to deal with money issues went unheeded until now, when the men in charge are on their way out the door.

Posted 7/19/16 (Tue) read more »