Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

All-North Dakota adventure has all-American end

Our cross-state road trip with our 10-year-old granddaughter spanned 1,800 miles and 26 counties.

Posted 7/10/18 (Tue) read more »

Minot grant decision shortsighted

Minot, after decades of acknowledging the contribution shoppers from small towns made to their economy, has decided -- apparently -- that how its feeder communities fare is no longer as important as keeping that money in Minot.

Posted 7/03/18 (Tue) read more »

Grateful for the memories of our hometown

Members of the Andrist family descended on Crosby last weekend for the burial of the family patriarch.

Posted 6/26/18 (Tue) read more »

Immigraton policy cannot stand

Is this a country that supports the idea of using children as pawns to achieve a political end?

Posted 6/19/18 (Tue) read more »

In small towns, relationships matter

Reporting in a small community puts you in touch with just about everybody at one time or another.

Posted 6/12/18 (Tue) read more »

New grandma loses all objectivity

New grandma loses all objectivity

My first grandchild just met his great-grandmother, so we got a four-generations photo that deserves to be shared.

Posted 6/05/18 (Tue) read more »

Communications director does not communicate

Formerly with the Doug Burgum campaign, Jahan Wilcox is now with a federal agency that is blocking reporters from its events.

Posted 5/29/18 (Tue) read more »

Of weddings, marijuana and babies

I will be a first-time grandma and a newlywed in a span of just a few weeks.

Posted 5/22/18 (Tue) read more »

Sometimes, miracle cures are elementary

What is wrong with my balance? The world-famous Mayo Clinic came to an unexpected conclusion.

Posted 5/15/18 (Tue) read more »

North Dakota nice on display at early debate

If our U.S. House candidates were there to duke it out, the gloves never came off.

Posted 5/08/18 (Tue) read more »