Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

Frozen Four boosts blood pressure of casual hockey fan

Every sports enthusiast who wasn’t a hockey fan upon arrival at UND became one before graduating.

Posted 3/29/16 (Tue) read more »

The downside of the boom -- or, chickens home to roost

Did we act as good stewards of our resources, or did we build a house of cards?

Posted 3/22/16 (Tue) read more »

Free trade: Is it a blessing or a curse?

A funny thing came to my mind this week, and I want you to know it is perfectly OK with me if you find this too boring to continue.

Posted 3/15/16 (Tue) read more »

Pulitzer winners, governor candidates and rink burgers

Newspaper people from across the state will be descending on Crosby for the 130th annual convention.

Posted 3/08/16 (Tue) read more »

I have not begun to not begin

This week I’m going to give you the rest of my techniques for avoiding whatever you need to get done.

Posted 3/01/16 (Tue) read more »

American affluence; not always good

The persistent war in Washington cannot end without a truce which rejects the all-or-nothing mentality which continues to carry the day.

Posted 2/23/16 (Tue) read more »

Spare me your encouragement

I’m a contrarian by nature. Whatever the prevailing opinion is, I tend to take the opposite view.

Posted 2/16/16 (Tue) read more »

Uncle Matt left view of the world through his eyes

For our family, he was Uncle Matt. Sure, it was a little awkward to refer to someone 16 years your junior as Uncle, but that was Matt.

Posted 2/09/16 (Tue) read more »

The good, the bad and the icy

I’ve noticed that when something negative occurs, people respond in one of two ways.

Posted 2/02/16 (Tue) read more »

Have you forgotten anything lately?

In those years of business when my brain was called to multitask, I cannot even guess how much time I spent looking for something misplaced.

Posted 1/26/16 (Tue) read more »