Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

Looking for names on the Forbes 400

Forbes magazine reported the names of the 400 wealthiest Americans. I scanned the list but could not seem to find my name.

Posted 11/01/16 (Tue) read more »

The price of safety is often freedom

In the name of keeping you safe, excessive occupational licensing unknowingly makes your life more complex and more expensive.

Posted 10/25/16 (Tue) read more »

Something does not compute

Technology certainly makes our lives easier -- except when it stops working properly.

Posted 10/18/16 (Tue) read more »

Halloween is not just for kids

The fact that I am no longer a child does not stop me from dressing up.

Posted 10/11/16 (Tue) read more »

Thoughts on the ballot measures

Aside from electing candidates in the forthcoming election, we will be deciding five ballot measures.

Posted 10/04/16 (Tue) read more »

What next for punny man?

People ask what I am going to do now that I am moving to Arizona. I will give you the punny answer.

Posted 9/27/16 (Tue) read more »

Lessons from the movie theater

One of my great joys of living in North Dakota has been working at the local movie theater. I have learned some things from working there.

Posted 9/20/16 (Tue) read more »

Escape from the dysfunction, discord and disrespect

Sometimes I feel like I am starting to identify with Will McAvoy.

Posted 9/13/16 (Tue) read more »

An ailment a day keeps doctor away

Every day, I experience a new ache, strain or pain. I have had the common cold and the uncommon cold.

Posted 9/06/16 (Tue) read more »

Mama said there would be days like this

Have you noticed how many Days there are these days?

Posted 8/30/16 (Tue) read more »