Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

Trying to think like a rich man thinks

Billionaires are really not that different from millionaires, thousandaires and paupers: They all want more.

Posted 4/18/17 (Tue) read more »

Some last-minute tax help

You waited until the last minute, while your friends are already spending their refund checks on some new sports cars.

Posted 4/11/17 (Tue) read more »

Snitches need protection from overzealous officers

North Dakota has no required standards governing the use of confidential informants. We know this because of Andrew Sadek.

Posted 4/04/17 (Tue) read more »

Treasured times with the family

As painful as my interactions with family can get, at least none of them have ever tried to eat me.

Posted 3/28/17 (Tue) read more »

Despite oppressive conditions, swim meet is impressive

Not bad for someone from a family whose only previous aquatic accomplishment was a disgusting belly flop at the Crosby Swimming Pool.

Posted 3/21/17 (Tue) read more »

The power of a good rewrite

It was the best of times. It was the worst of times. When you average it out, the times were so-so.

Posted 3/14/17 (Tue) read more »

My political predictions bring the kiss of death

Maybe voters are waiting to hear what I have to say so they know how not to vote.

Posted 3/07/17 (Tue) read more »

Spring cleaning for writing ideas

I feel the need to clean out my notebook by compiling my random thoughts and sharing them; enjoy.

Posted 2/28/17 (Tue) read more »

Exhaustion sets in for those who remain moderate

I am becoming bogged down in a quagmire of extreme views.

Posted 2/14/17 (Tue) read more »

Pink streamers and happy tears

Nana B had finished 12 weeks of chemotherapy and a month of radiation treatments. And so it was that we came to celebrate.

Posted 2/07/17 (Tue) read more »