Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

In small towns, relationships matter

Reporting in a small community puts you in touch with just about everybody at one time or another.

Posted 6/12/18 (Tue) read more »

New grandma loses all objectivity

New grandma loses all objectivity

My first grandchild just met his great-grandmother, so we got a four-generations photo that deserves to be shared.

Posted 6/05/18 (Tue) read more »

Communications director does not communicate

Formerly with the Doug Burgum campaign, Jahan Wilcox is now with a federal agency that is blocking reporters from its events.

Posted 5/29/18 (Tue) read more »

Of weddings, marijuana and babies

I will be a first-time grandma and a newlywed in a span of just a few weeks.

Posted 5/22/18 (Tue) read more »

Sometimes, miracle cures are elementary

What is wrong with my balance? The world-famous Mayo Clinic came to an unexpected conclusion.

Posted 5/15/18 (Tue) read more »

North Dakota nice on display at early debate

If our U.S. House candidates were there to duke it out, the gloves never came off.

Posted 5/08/18 (Tue) read more »

I have lots of bees in my bonnet lately

It seems everyone is a little less civil these days, a little more determined to get what they think they have coming to them.

Posted 5/01/18 (Tue) read more »

When sales tax fails, turn to the use tax

Online retailers are not required to collect and remit sales taxes. The playing field is not level.

Posted 4/24/18 (Tue) read more »

Every millennial could use a trip to the Holocaust Museum

No one should ever, ever forget, and yet the number of people unfamiliar with the 1940s genocide of 6 million Jews is increasing.

Posted 4/17/18 (Tue) read more »

Reporting erratic driver better than watching a semi roll

Did we save a life? Maybe even our own? We will never know, but here is the story.

Posted 4/10/18 (Tue) read more »